The War of Art

Lately I’ve been reading The War of Art by Steven Pressfield. He is a very talented writer and I must admit that I’ve enjoyed a few of his novels, but this book is completely out of his normal realm. As a writer, I often struggle with doubt and my own resistance. And, I am glad I’m not alone because apparently Steven struggles with these same issues. So much in fact that he wrote a little book about it.

This book is a really quick read and quite motivating. Or, maybe encouraging is the right word. Either way, I am devouring it, page by page. I will offer my full thoughts once I finish, but here is a quick passage I’d like to share:

“The writer is an infantryman. He knows that progress is measured in yards of dirt extracted from the enemy one day, one hour, one minute at a time and paid for in blood. The artist wears combat boots. He looks in the mirror and sees GI Joe.”

Encouraging, right?

Can’t wait to finish it up.

 

Leave a Reply

